One More Month

In exactly one month from now, I’ll be a college graduate. This was the moment I was waiting for ever since I started college. Now, I’d give so much not to end this experience just yet. I remember almost four years ago, I’d tell myself that I want time to fast forward so I can skip college. What was I thinking? My last year of college has given me so much joy, but now it’s all about to end. I’d spend nights wishing I can go back to being a freshman and relive this all over again with the friends and knowledge I have now. One month from now, it’ll all be over. I can already imagine how sad I’ll feel. Worse than how I feel now, because right now at this very moment, I still have tomorrow to look forward to. I still have a month to enjoy life with my friends. It’s so sad that because of the strictness of my family, I can’t see them much anymore after graduation. If I wasn’t in this situation, I wouldn’t be so sad about graduating because I would be able to see them as often as I could. But it’s not like that. I’ll loose my freedom after graduation. After complaining multiple times about how badly I don’t want to graduate yet, my friend, who’s a Junior told me, “It’s just graduation. You’re not going to die”. I may not die literally, but a part of me will die. I can’t believe I wasted so much time hating college before. I also can’t believe that a stranger who randomly said hello to me one day changed my life. I’ve grown so much in the past few months. People around me have told me that I seem happier. One month from now, that’s all going to change. I know eventually, I will get used to the post-graduation life. I have plans to go back to school, of course, but it won’t be the same as college. I know I have a bright future ahead of me, but I don’t want to go there just yet. Funny how I’ve spent years of my life wishing to live in the future and the past, but now, all I want is for time to stop going by so fast. But it is going by so fast. One more month until graduation… I have to make the most out of it.

Leave a Reply

