In Another Life

I, for one, don’t believe in reincarnation. I do believe in heaven, however, whenever I say “In another life”, I simply mean day dreaming. I’ve always wondered what it would be like to live in the past. I’d imagine living in the days when men hunted and women gathered, only I would be a hunter. I’d imagine living in a hut with my family in a small village in the middle of the forest. I’d imagine climbing tall trees and immersing myself into the beauty of nature, carrying my bow and arrow with me wherever go.

I’d imagine spending my entire life in the Philippines. I was born and raised there, but when I was 8 years old, my family and I immigrated to the United States. I wonder how differently my life would have been if I didn’t leave. Very differently, I presume. I wonder if I’ll be the same Ira that lived half of her life in the Philippines and the other half in the United States. I expect the answer to that is no.

I’d imagine myself in another life if I am not the person I am today. What if I was born a male instead of a female? What if I was born with a mental or physical disability? What if I was born a different ethnicity? In a different country? What if I was an orphan? What if my parents were filthy rich? What if I lived in poverty? What if I lived in a society completely isolated from the world? How different would my life be?

I can’t help but be slightly disappointed that I will never know what it’s like to live a completely different life. Not to say that I am unhappy with my life. It just makes me think about how seemingly gratifying life would be if we could experience different lives with different circumstances in different time periods. As impossible as that may be, imagination is free for all to use. As much as it would be nice to experience a different life, I am still very grateful and happy that I am able to live the life I am living now.

Leave a Reply

